Houghton Mifflin Harcourt announces guest editors for its Best American series

I’ve always loved the “Best American” series, especially the short stories and nonrequired reading editions. When you dip into them you become very aware of how much thought (and love for the subject) went into the selection process. I’m always curious about who the guest editors will be, so I’m delighted to have the 2011 slate (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt will issue a formal announcement later today).

The Best  American Short Stories: Geraldine Brooks

The Best American Essays: Edwidge Danticat

The Best American Comics: Alison Bechdel

The Best Anerican Nonrequired Reading: Dave Eggers (with an introduction by Guillermo del Toro)

The Best American Travel Writing: Sloane Crosley

The Best American Science and Nature Writing: Mary Roach

The Best American Sports Writing: Jane Leavy

Add your comment

No comments yet.

Add your comment
The rules: Keep it clean, and stay on the subject - or we may delete your comment. If you see inappropriate language, e-mail us. An asterisk (*) indicates a required field.

When you click on the "Post Comment" button above to submit your comments, you are indicating your acceptance of and are agreeing to the Terms of Service. You can also read our Privacy Policy.

Latest Videos in Books


From Our Partners

TV Recaps

Powered by WordPress.com VIP