Amy Tan's next two books announced


Image Credit: Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images

The Valley of Amazement, Amy Tan’s first novel in eight years, is one of the most anticipated novels this fall. Ahead of its Nov. 5 release, Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins, has announced Tan’s next two books, which will be coming in relatively quick succession. An as-yet untitled collection of essays is slated for Fall 2014, and a new novel, The Memory of Desire, will be released Fall 2016.

Tan described the upcoming books in a press release. “In a few months, I’ll finish the first, as yet untitled collection of personal essays on writing and the way my mind works – why I write, what I think about, what I wonder over, and the way my imagination gets released,” she said. “The second book is a novel called The Memory of Desire, about a house in San Francisco and the battle for ownership among three families over the last seventy-five years. The narrator is an octogenarian who has had a stroke and finds she can speak only Chinese, the once-forgotten language of her childhood. She can now recall what she heard long ago, the source of the feud, and the reason her memory of it was removed. It’s a story about motives, passion, and inherited desire.”

Follow @EWStephanLee on Twitter.

Read more:
Summer Must List: 10 books for your beach bag
Amazon announces its best books of 2013 so far
Amy Tan’s new novel ‘Valley of Amazement’ released by HarperCollins


Latest Videos in Books


From Our Partners

TV Recaps

Powered by VIP