EW picks Daniyal Mueenuddin and Dave Eggers' titles as the best books of 2009: What's your fave?

It’s that time again: As 2009 draws to a close, we’ve been given the formidable task of culling the finest literature from the year. As always, it was tough picking out the best from a bevy of books published in the last 12 months. But who won? In the fiction category, it was Daniyal Mueenuddin’s collection of short stories, In Other Rooms, Other Wonders. As for nonfiction, the always reliable Dave Eggers topped the list with his Hurricane Katrina-centric book, Zeitoun. (For EW’s complete list of the top 10 fiction and nonfiction titles of the year, pick up a copy of our year-end Best & Worst double issue, on newsstands now.)

But that’s just EW’s opinion, Shelf Lifers. Tell us, which books top your 2009 list?

Comments (24 total) Add your comment
Page: 1 2
  • mkaffeine

    Best nonfiction book of the year: “Lit” by Mary Karr
    Best fiction book of the year … I’m still waiting to read it. Though I’ve enjoyed several titles this year, nothing that struck me as The Best Novel of 2009. That being said, I’ve got a few candidates on hold at the library!

  • Bradley

    Fiction:
    1. The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet
    2. This is Where I Leave You
    3. Spooner
    4. Sag Harbor
    5. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
    6. Let the Great World Spin
    7. The Anthologist
    8. Lowboy
    9. Beautiful Creatures
    10. Everything Matters

    Nonfiction (Just 4):
    1. Zeitoun
    2. Eating Animals
    3. Manhood for Amateurs
    4. Columbine

  • Auriana

    The Silver Mage by Katharine Kerr

  • scott

    I second the vote for “The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie.” Loved it.
    However, the best book I read this year was Colm Toibin’s “Brooklyn.” Wonderful. Still can’t shake it.

  • Kent

    Beat The Reaper by Josh Bazell. A fantastic debut novel for fans of Goodfellas or The Departed.

  • Cole9219

    That was definitely my favorite book that came out this year. It was so FUN to read it!

  • DW

    Zeitoun is fantastic. Glad to see it getting some love.

  • Ally

    The Help by Kathryn Stockett

    • 6nnnnnns

      I TOTALLY agree – it was like having a roomful of women telling a compelling story – their story. Absolutely wonderful, but I wasn’t sure it came out in 2009.

    • Jessica

      The Help was a great book! I loved it!!

  • fred poisson

    Under The Dome was phenomenal, really an enjoyable read.

  • Jackie (Farm Lane Books)

    Stone’s Fall by Ian Pears was my favourite book this year – gripping, imaginative and clever it had everything you’d ever want in a book.

    Wilderness by Samantha Harvey was also a stunning book – sad, but innovative.

    2009 has been a fantastic year for new fiction!

  • Barbara

    “Best” and “worst” have to be picked from what i read and it may just be the “most enjoyed” read
    Best: “Lady Vernon and Her Daughter”
    Worst: “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies”
    (can you tell I like Jane Austen?)

  • Lisa

    Probably not on any reviewer’s “best” list but like fellow poster Barbara, my “most enjoyed”…
    The Chalk Circle Man by Fred Vargas
    The Suspect by LR Wright
    This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper
    The Girl Who Played w/Fire by S.Larsson
    Beat the Reaper by Josh Bszell
    Elegance of the Hedgehog
    Beautiful Creatures
    Arctic Chill by A. Indridason
    Falling Under

  • viva

    beat the reaper: i could not put it down. hilarious, brilliant, and grotesque.

  • Gail

    Loved Colm Toibin’s Brooklyn and Jess Walter’s Financial Lives of the Poets. Go read the latter NOW! Hysterical.
    Verghese’s Cutting for Stone comes out in pb next month. Will be big.

  • Meghan

    Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby
    You Better Not Cry: Stories For Christmas by Augusten Burroughs
    Looking For Calvin & Hobbes by Nevin Martell

Page: 1 2
Add your comment
The rules: Keep it clean, and stay on the subject - or we may delete your comment. If you see inappropriate language, e-mail us. An asterisk (*) indicates a required field.

When you click on the "Post Comment" button above to submit your comments, you are indicating your acceptance of and are agreeing to the Terms of Service. You can also read our Privacy Policy.

Latest Videos in Books

Advertisement

From Our Partners

TV Recaps

Powered by WordPress.com VIP